NICE 2014

NICE 2014 took place 23 – 25 February 2014. The workshop page is not active any longer. The content is still accessible here on the Internet Archive.

Content copied from the page (as history):

Banner - 2014

2014 Neuro-Inspired Computational Elements Workshop:

Information Processing and Computation Systems beyond von Neumann/Turing Architecture and Moore’s Law Limits

February 24, 25, and 26, 2014

Workshop focus:

Conventional, stored program architecture systems are designed for algorithmic and exact calculations.  However, the problems with highest impact involve large, noisy, incomplete, “natural” data sets that do not lend themselves to convenient solutions by current systems.  Our task is to build upon the convergence – cresting waves among neuroscience, microelectronics and computational systems to develop a new architecture designed to handle these natural data sets.

Workshop goal: 

By bringing together researchers from different scientific disciplines and applications areas, we seek to provide a nucleation point for the development of next generation of information processing/computation architectures that go beyond stored program architectures and Moore’s Law limits.

With this workshop, we will:

  • Present applications that are looking for solutions that are beyond the capabilities of current computational systems,
  • Highlight technical approaches that are at the early to middle stages of development for new computational systems,
  • Identify pathways and resources to accelerate the development of these new systems.
Attendance: 80-100 from neuroscience, systems, microelectronics, applications, potential funding agencies.

Workshop Advisory Committee

Dan Hammerstrom
Jim Olds
Karlheinz Meier
R. Jacob Vogelstein

Workshop Organizing Committee

Bradley Aimone, Sandia National Laboratories
Corinee Teeter, Allen Institute for Brain Science
Murat Okandan, Sandia National Laboratories

Confirmed speakers

Ajay Divakaran, SRI International
Anthony Lewis, Qualcomm
Dan Hammerstrom, DARPA
David Arathorn, GIC Lab
Dhireesha Kudithipudi, Rochester Institute of Technology
Eric Ryu, Samsung, Inc.
Fredrick Rothganger, Sandia National Labs
George Bourianoff, Intel
George Dyson, (author of Turing’s Cathedral)
Itamar Arel, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Jacob Vogelstein, IARPA
Jeff Hawkins, Grok Solutions/Numenta
Jeff Krichmar, UC Irvine
Jeremy Holleman, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
John George, LANL
Jose C. Principe, University of Florida
Julia Phillips, Sandia Nation Labartories
Karlheinz Meier, Heidelberg University
Kevin Gomez, Seagate
Lloyd Watts, Audience, Inc.
Michael Pfeiffer, ETHZ
Nima Mesgarani, Columbia University
Richard Granger, Dartmouth University
Stan Williams, HP
Stephen Larson, OpenWorm Project
Thomas Sterling, Indiana University
Todd Hylton, Brain Corporation
Travis DeWolf, University of Waterloo, Canada



IARPA logo


DARPA logo

Murat Okandan, Ph.D.
[email protected]

Linda Wood
Event Organization
[email protected]